Walkin’ the Walk on St. Paddy’s Day

St. Patrick’s Day was a nonevent for me and my family today.  My daughter had to work all day, and just left the house to join a couple of friends at a nearby pub where there will be bagpipers.  For my husband and I it was an afternoon of community activism.  We spent the afternoon driving around nearby neighborhoods, talking to people who’ve been identified as sympathetic to our cause which is trying to stop the rampant over-development of our town, Huntington, LI.

At least 3 of the twelve homes we visited smelled like corned beef and cabbage.  Not only did the smell make me hungry, it reminded me of how religiously I used to cook up corn beef and cabbage for my family on St. Pat’s Day.  Not because we’re terribly Irish (if at all), but because there was always a parade in our town, and years ago my brother, a highway patrol officer, played the bagpipes in that parade as a member of Suffolk County’s Emerald Society band.  It was always a thrill for us to see him come down the street in his gorgeous kilt and tall hat, blowing on his bagpipe and nodding to us as he marched by. I’d always have a steaming plate of corned beef, potatoes and cabbage ready for him when he stopped by, before he headed back to his own home, an hour away.

He’s now retired and so are we. Sadly, many of these traditions have slowly come to an end for our family.  This is what small-town suburban life was like ten, twenty years ago.  Now we are entering a new era which seems to be less about traditions and families and more about individuals trying to make as much money as they can, while they can, even if it means exploiting local communities and upsetting family traditions.

I know the only constant in life is “change;” but does it always have to be so painful? Many of the traditions we grew up with are disappearing.  Where are we going? What will become of us? These are the questions I ponder in my daily life.  And that is why I spent the day walking the streets of my town, trying to preserve some of what I have grown to love and pass it on to the next generation. Do I sound like an old person?

Published by

barbara suter

I'm a retired teacher who enjoys writing and sharing in this; unique blogging community.

28 thoughts on “Walkin’ the Walk on St. Paddy’s Day”

  1. You do not sound old. You sound like someone looking to the future, caring about the next generation. 🙂 At least you got to smell some corned beef and cabbage cooking. I made it and it was delicious. And, you gave me the word I was looking for to describe my new town..it’s a small town suburb. I like that! Enjoyed your post today…Happy St. Paddy’s Day. With all of that walking I bet you felt like you danced a jig or two. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your post was very moving especially the words “I know the only constant in my life is “change,” but does it always have to be so painful?. This is a very hard question. Thank you for making me pause.
    And by the way anyone who spends their Saturdays knocking on doors to make a difference in their world is young indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are making a difference for all in your town. Memories of past holiday events will always be there in your heart. Your last question made me laugh. Sometimes I say something, then my husband says, “You sound like an old person.” I think he’s wrong. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You don’t sound old, at all–just experienced enough to see the value in traditions. It is hard, sometimes, to make room in our lives for important tasks and family traditions. I know ours have evolved as our children have grown; I’m hoping to see them carry on the traditions in their own homes once they’ve flown the nest for good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, our are changing and evolving as our “kids” grow older. And now my son has a significant other, so there’s another family in the equation. But believe it or not, we sometimes still have an Easter egg hunt and they still love doing it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Bagpipes, eh, definitely a mixed Celtic event — but, unlike the epics, mixing peaceably. Glad to see another retired but still busy here. Taking action for change, digital ankle-biting and continuing to learn are the best “retirement” hobbies I know.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I know what you mean about traditions changing. My youngest daughter used to always complain that everyone else got to do….(egg dying, pumpkin carving etc.) longer than she did. She was quite indignant about it too. Thoughtful and reflective piece. thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment