Living the Dream, Then Dying for It

(NY Times, August 7, 2018. Story by Rakmini Callimachi)

With so much bad news in abundance, I was recently drawn to an article in the New York Times about a young American couple who decided to take a “gap year” from their very busy lives to experience “living in real time.” Both very accomplished Georgetown graduates, they met, fell in love, and began to share a dream. Some say she was very influenced by his lifestyle of global wandering and living on the edge. Others might say they were a perfect match to pursue their dream together.

FRANCE Jay Austin and Lauren Geoghegan began their trip in July 2017. They reached Europe in December.CreditSimplycycling.org

I was hooked on their story. Their dream was to wander the globe to experience the goodness of humanity.

“There’s magic out there, in this great big beautiful world,” wrote Jay Austin who, along with his partner, Lauren Geoghegan, gave his two weeks’ notice last year before shipping his bicycle to Africa.

Their story struck a very deep chord in me since I have a son who has very similar aspirations.  A graduate of the Georgetown School of Foreign Service, he has also wandered off the grid alone on several occasions in the Middle East, Africa and Europe.  He has that gene that provokes him to explore and have experiences that the more timid among us can only imagine.

As his mother, I first experienced this genetic disposition when he was 16 and made a serious argument to me and his Dad for going to Africa to visit the camp of a young researcher (and his wife and child) to study the wild dog population of the Okavanga Delta in Botswana, Africa. Eventually I agreed for several reasons: He was a “mature” 16 year old who usually made smart decisions;  he had a good “connection” to a situation that would offer him this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity; he was persistent and stubborn about going on this adventure. While I understood his desire to experience an adventure with an uncertain outcome as I had done the same in my early 20’s when I set out to explore Europe on my own with nothing but a backpack in the mid-70’s, Africa clearly presented more potential for danger.

As I watched him turn away from us, his family, to walk down the ramp to his plane bound for South Africa, my thoughts were: I may never see him again, but if he dies, he will die doing what he loves and what he has chosen to do.  It was a deal I had to make with myself to accept the uncertainty of what lay ahead. In fact, he did have several life-threatening experiences with lions and hyenas, but his levelheadedness got him out of both jams. Now, when I tell his story, I describe it as his “walk-about”…the Aboriginal practice of a young man setting out alone into the wilderness to “become a man.”

On social media, the two adventurers reported having many ups and downs on the road, but mostly they continued to be motivated by the generosity and kindness of strangers they met along the way. This is the point of such adventures…for them and for my son who experienced many acts of kindness on their journeys.

But unlike my son’s adventures thus far, theirs did not have a happy ending.  A few days after their one year anniversary of being on the road while on a biking tour in Tajikistan, a random carload of young Islamic extremists spotted their cycling group as they drove by them, made a quick u-turn, and mowed them down deliberately. The NY Times showed a picture of the young murderers who reveled in their luck at having killed a group of “infidels.”

This could have been my son and his girlfriend/partner, or your son or daughter. I think often of the two sets of parents and wonder how they are processing what happened to their children. Do they take comfort in knowing that they were chasing their dream, doing what they most wanted to do in life? Or do they wish they had urged them to be more cautious; perhaps even advising them not to be so trustworthy or to avoid certain places. If they were like my son, their words of caution would probably have fallen on deaf ears. He always finds more reasons to explore than not. After all, the world is an enormous, enticing place that beckons to be experienced. I understand that and feel the same way, but as a young woman, I was more cautious.

Have circumstances nowadays changed to make such a journey more dangerous than ever before? Or were there always dangers associated with extreme traveling? How do we feel about the tension between exploring the untamed world vs. living a life of greater security and less bliss? How would I now feel if my son had died while pursuing his dream? As teachers and/or parents, should we encourage young adults to follow their dreams?

There are no right or wrong answers; the answers depend on the individuals themselves.  Everyone has to make choices about how they want to live, and sometimes how they want to die.  This couple shared a short-lived, but amazing  dream together…of their own choosing and my heart goes out to their families.

Published by

barbara suter

I'm a retired teacher who enjoys writing and sharing in this; unique blogging community.

26 thoughts on “Living the Dream, Then Dying for It”

  1. This is a gripping story in so many ways. It’s incredible that this young couple had such clarity of vision, and the means, to pursue their dream. That they should die because of others’ senselessness is unspeakable. It is hard to comprehend how people across the world make such dark choices every day. When you ask about encouraging others in their dreams … I suppose it depends on what the dream is. What an opportunity you made happen for your son. On a much smaller scale: Years ago my husband and I supported our son in a dream he had – one that he quickly discovered wasn’t for him, after all. If we hadn’t supported him, however, he might have lived his life wistfully pining for the idea of the thing, forever begrudging our lack of support, instead of coming to his own conclusion that it wasn’t the path he thought he wanted. We didn’t close the door on his dream; he did, and that’s a very different thing. When you watched your son go after his dream, knowing what COULD happen but trusting it would not, that’s the sacrificial side of love. We must live wisely, but we cannot live in fear. I mourn for the young couple; I celebrate their year of living their dream. What an existential piece this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am thrilled with your thoughtful response. You are very wise to add that you didn’t close the door on your son’s dream…he did. That’s so important isn’t it? For a person to feel like they really have a choice. I hadn’t thought of my post as existential, but you are right. It absolutely is.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your post gave me pause this morning, about my own children and travel and the presence of danger. My daughter has lived abroad for over two years now, in Japan. When asked if I worry about her, I often say that I’d worry more if she had moved to Los Angeles (having traveled in Japan, and felt quite safe there). There are those who choose to harm others everywhere, sadly. But Fran is right; we can’t live in fear.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am glad my post caused you to reflect on the same issues I wrote about; that was my intention so I guess it worked! I would have to agree about Japan being “more safe.” When my son goes to the Middle East I am more anxious…for obvious reasons. I caution him that people in other cultures
      might misunderstand his penchant for roaming around in odd places, or might see him as an easy target. But you are right; we can’t live in fear. That’s the challenge we parents face if we support our children being citizens of the world.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing. It is really sad why people have to kill, for what purpose, what satisfaction do they get. It is tragic. Our best wishes to your son. My friend’s daughter and son-in-law are out there somewhere living life as they want to.
    Second Breakfast: Food, Style and Travel Blog
    https://secondbreakfast.in

    Second Breakfast is lifestyle and travel blog following the footsteps of Ruchika Shankar’s journey around the world. Come on in for travel, food and style.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comments today. Living life “they way we want to” sometimes does come at a cost, but that’s the gamble isn’t it?
      I enjoy your blog about the comings and goings of you and your family.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Barbara,
    Thank you for sharing this post. I was familiar with the story but hadn’t read deep enough. After reading this, I am reflecting on my life as a parent, dwelling on that delicate balance we strike between allowing our children to live out their dreams and keeping them safe. But there is so much out of our control as this story shows. Such a sad story that shakes my faith in humanity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am grateful for your feedback on how my post made you reflect on your role as a parent…since that was what I was aiming for. These terrible things happen all the time, yet somehow as parents (and teachers) we must encourage “our children to live out their dreams” in spite of our fears.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, your story had so many personal connections for me! I have several groups of friends who also travelled the world for a year. I am living in Phnom Penh, Cambodia and definitely have the travel bug myself (with one son in the US and one in S.Korea). Kudos to you for giving your son the freedom to explore. It is never easy to let go of our kids no matter what their age.
    I loved the way you wove your own experiences and that of your son with this other tragic one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Blessings to you, your friends and family, and to all those who are “out there” exploring the world despite the ever present threats and challenges. We are a cult, too…a cult of living life to the fullest! Thank you for your comment about how I wrote the story; it’s good to know that the mix of my personal story with the news story worked!

      Like

  6. So much to grieve about in this story, but this couple’s mission cannot be lost in the evil way their life was taken. We have to have our young believe that there is more good than evil in this world…why else keep living and bringing life into this world? This is what my own grown children, all of whom love to travel and learn, and I talk about and hope for. Beautiful post, Barbara.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Having our own grown children of this age makes this story especially poignant because we know how much hard work and faith has gone into their “cultivation.” This couple seemed so “alive” and so “hopeful.” But you are right…there’s no better alternative path.

      Like

  7. Wow- what a story! What a post you’ve written and how beautiful all the comments are. I don’t have wisdom to add. But I wanted you to know I appreciate you- your braveness, your perspective, your desire to see the world and how you’ve passed that onto your children. Prayers for this couple and their families.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind and generous words today about my post and about me. The TWT site has given me a place to express my “take” on matters great and small; it has also helped me to develop a “voice” for doing so. It’s so helpful to receive quality feedback from TWT participants so we writers can know when we’ve communicated our thoughts effectively. I couldn’t not comment on that article because it spoke to such a deep place within me. Thanks to your encouragement to join the SOL writing community, I have been honing that voice for the past three years, with feedback from other members. You have played a key role in my experience and I am grateful for you. (I also really enjoyed your post today and the analogy of how being “measured” on a scale is comparable to being measured by a test. It’s only a “snapshot” of one day…it’s not the whole picture! Thank goodness….)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. How tragic. It is a shame that conditions in the world have some people afraid to leave their home. That is not living and not how I choose to live my life. Worrying about what might happen or things we can’t control is giving in to those whose intentions are anything but honorable.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I really appreciate the questions you raise at the end. Often I think we need the questions more than their answers; we need and benefit from the think time they demand of us. Thank you for sharing the couple’s story and connecting it to your son’s choices. I also have an adult son moving abroad and I feel confident that he will manage well and seek the right kinds of help when he needs it. My task is to offer the supports that make the venturing possible.

    Like

  10. Unfortunately I think about this now, the inherent dangers and how it seems they have grown since our youth. I think perhaps today we are just more aware of the danger. In my gap year in Argentina, there were many dangers I don’t think my parents anticipated. In my foggy memory I think they sent me off to give it a go. I’m sure they had thoughts they didn’t share.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure they did! How gracious of them not to mention them. Yes, there have always been dangers….lions, hyenas, bad people, etc. But I don’t recall there ever being so much directed animosity as was experienced by this unfortunate couple and their friends. Yesterday’s incident on the Westminster Bridge in London is a perfect example. But as many commenters have already said, we can’t let that stop us or they’ll win.

      Have you ever written about your “gap year” in Argentina. I’d love to know more!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. >There are no right or wrong answers; the answers depend on the individuals themselves. Everyone has to make choices about how they want to live, and sometimes how they want to die.<

    As I've read and reread your blog, these words come up highlighted in my brain. In the end, we make the choice how to live our lives. Some do it freer than others, but it's our choice. Yesterday, we moved our daughter into a dorm room at the University of Iowa. Not our choice of schools for a number of reasons, but in the end, it's where she wanted to begin the next chapter of her life.

    All we can do is educate, talk, and then watch as decisions are made. This blog (and the story behind it) pulls me in many different ways, but the overriding emotion is sadness. As I googled their story, I came across this article titled, "Two Bikers Killed By ISIS Militants A World Away. They Were My Friends" (https://goo.gl/mC6PR3). The article talks about the couple, gives some of their background stories, but begins to wrap up with this:

    "Maybe it’s enough that we got to know them so well through their words and deeds. Maybe it’s enough that they saw so much of the world in so short a time. But Jay and Lauren wanted to do so much more. That’s been stolen not just from them, but from the world they hoped to heal."

    My sadness is both for the loss of these young lives, but from what's been taken from all of us.

    Thank you for such a well written, emotional slice! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Darin, Thank you for such a thoughtful response to my post this week. I have really appreciated the feedback I’ve been getting to my post. It’s a topic that many people, like yourself, respond to. Those who are parents, of course, know firsthand the agony of watching our kids make choices. Regarding your daughter’s choice of a college: Who can really predict how a college choice will work out for anyone? It’s good that you let her go since it was her choice. If things don’t work out (and you will know from clues she will give you), you can encourage her to transfer. My own daughter, now 35, is in the throes of applying to grad school. It’s something she’s dreamed about for a long time. She has health and stamina issues, so I am holding my breath, but all I can do right now is support her, guide her and hope for the best!

      I especially liked your words: “My sadness is both for the loss of these young lives, but from what’s been taken from all of us.” That’s it in a nutshell.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment