Easter Bunny Inflation

Today I did a little shopping when I realized I hadn’t done anything special for Easter. With no small children around, it’s easy to forget these things, although I did get some Easter egg dye a couple weeks ago. Compared to Easter when I was a child, Easter has become practically a non-event. (We are not religious.)

So I set out for Marshall’s which is one of those discount department stores that has markdowns on everything. I fully expected to find lots of chocolate bunnies at very reasonable prices. I needed one for my daughter’s Easter basket. Yes, she still gets a basket at 34 years of age and loves it.

Much to my shock there were no bunnies at all at Marshall’s. There were gift boxes of chocolates, and marshmallow candies galore…but no bunnies. I looked through the entire store, including the Home section which has kitchen items and gourmet foods…but no bunnies.

Of course I bought a few other things I didn’t really need, including a metal folding chair with a bird perched on the back for me to use when I sit on. my small stoop outside the front door…but no bunnies.

I browsed the cosmetics section and picked up hand creams, soaps, and body lotions and moisturizers for Easter baskets…but no bunnies.

D… it! Now I’ll have to go to another store just to get the bunny. I drove to the bakery in town which was always a source of chocolate bunnies in the past. But it’s under new ownership so I wasn’t sure. Yes! They had chocolate bunnies…but very few, and they were quite expensive. I deliberated a while, decided to buy only the smallest one at $8.95, and thought about how my parents had to provide 8 chocolate bunnies for their 8 kids every Easter!

Next stop was the pharmacy. There I picked up a cheap chocolate foil-wrapped bunny for my husband while my RX was filled and a funny Easter card for my daughter.

I lugged home my Easter loot and then some. Unpacked the car; put the new chair on the front stoop (it fits perfectly) and hid the bunnies in my closet, along with the sundry gifts.

Is it just me, or is everything getting ridiculously expensive? Even chocolate bunnies.

Published by

barbara suter

I'm a retired teacher who enjoys writing and sharing in this; unique blogging community.

7 thoughts on “Easter Bunny Inflation”

  1. I felt like I was right there with you shopping! I have two kids and I’ve been picking up a few things here and there this week for their baskets. We have a tradition of a easter egg scavenger hunt that leads to their baskets and even at age 13 and 11 they insist on doing it! Have a wonderful holiday! If you have HomeGoods near you… they have lots of bunnies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My 34 and 36 year old had an Easter egg hunt last year just for ol’ times sake! I’ve also invited the two-year old and his Mom next door for a special, one-child Easter egg hunt in our yard. I look forward to dying eggs with my 34 year old daughter. Easter has such lovely traditions. Have a great one with your two kids!

      Like

  2. Since we moved, this is the first Easter without grand kids and I’ve been wondering what to do? Make a basket for my husband? We love the candy that goes with Easter! 🙂 After reading your post, I’ve decided I’m making a basket for us…and it will be an Easter morning surprise for my husband. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, by all means…make yourselves an Easter basket with only your favorites. I sometimes buy a special chocolate beer for my husband who loves good beers. After all, how often do we have an excuse to buy candy for ourselves??? Happy Easter 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are never too old to get an Easter basket especially one that is tailor made to likes. Everyone likes surprises no matter how old. I have noticed the price of chocolate bunnies. Wow. So, Barbara, are your kids solid chocolate or hollow chocolate eaters?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Solid chocolate, of course. I used to indulge them with really expensive chocolate from a chocolate shop in town. Now the bakery shop chocolate will have to do. It’s the thought that counts…right? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment