Lost and Found

About a month or two ago, I wrote about two objects I love dearly, which I lost. One was a red knit hat which I always wore when out walking in the cold weather. It made me feel happy to put it on because it was such a colorful contrast to the grayness of winter.

I keep waiting for it to show up, but now I believe…the hat is gone for good 😦

The other object I lost was a beautiful handmade writing folio, given to me by one of my oldest and dearest friends about three decades ago. I cherished it because of the skill that went into making this binder, crafted by a young woman I once knew in California, and because it was such a special kind of gift to receive: A gift that said, “You are worthy of this special item.”

I searched for the portfolio diligently for several weeks, but then began to realize I would have to get used to the idea of having lost it, since it was nowhere to be found. I tried to tell myself to “detach,” in the Buddhist sense of the word. After all, things do come and go in our lives, so we can’t stay too attached to them. I have become better at embracing this philosophy, but this particular loss still deeply saddened me because of its connection to my now deceased friend who gave it to me.

You guessed it…the portfolio reappeared in my life just a few days ago. I was going through some boxes of papers in my bedroom and suddenly there it was at the bottom of a pile of mail, and notebooks, and other detritus. I could hardly believe my eyes. I lifted it from the box and immediately felt someone in the universe was taking care of me. I felt that my dear friend was sending me a message. It was a a very amazing, completely unexpected outcome.

There’s one more piece of good news in the Department of Lost and Found. After nearly six weeks of attending Weight Watcher’s meetings, watching myself gain and lose the same 2-3 pounds, I finally achieved the 5 pound mark (plus almost another half pound)!

This probably seems silly, but even though I lost only a few pounds, I found new confidence. It has been very difficult to start this weight-loss journey. I wasn’t sure if I had the strength to stick with it, but today I feel like I can keep going. One day at a time….

Oh, and one last discovery…an object I “found” on a walk today with my daughter. Another positive message from the universe…to Ed.

I hope Ed, whoever he is, found it, too!

Lost and found, lost and found…. The dance of life!

14 thoughts on “Lost and Found”

    1. Rich, indeed. There may be additional slices since I seem to be misplacing things constantly and then finding them…mostly. I love the tactful way you ended your response: “only losing what you want to.” That made me smile.

      Like

  1. This post is so beautiful and warm and lovely…like you! So glad your writing folio is back! I hold out hope your red hat will return. Congrats on the 5 pounds lost! I’m in about the same place- almost 5 pounds gone- and I know just what you mean about the confidence! So proud of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So proud of you, too, because I know we are both fighting the same battle. So today I relapsed and stopped for 2 slices with a diet Coke for $5. I had been doing a million errands and was getting hungry and tired…and then I drove past the pizza place. Sigh. Now I have to log in the points I spent and come to terms with it. Tonight will be a lean dinner. So glad you liked my slice from the Department of Lost and Found!
      (Please resend me the email re: your friends’ daughter. I’m sorry to hear what an ordeal they are going through. Children do have the capacity to make an amazing recovery from cancer; I’m really hoping this is true for her and her parents’ sake…and yours.)

      Like

  2. I love this post because it’s a true slice of life; it’s what happens to us daily (or to me anyway). I spend a good deal of time searching for things, but your post reminds me to remember that the thing is not important, it’s the feeling that the thing inspires that’s important. And our emotions remain–the love you have for your deceased friend, for instance. Thanks for lifting me up on your shoulders this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for seeing it as a true slice of life. When the discovery of the folio happened I knew immediately who I had to share it with…my Slicer friends, of course. They would get it….and you did!

      Like

  3. This is a lovely post that makes me think about things in my life that have come and gone, returned or not.
    Congrats on getting your first gold star in WW!

    Like

  4. Oh my gosh, how exciting. I’m so glad you found your portfolio and lost those pesky 5 pounds! Don’t give up on that red hat-it’s lost now but just may be found one day when you most need the joy!

    Like

    1. I would love to think the hat may reappear. About those 5 pounds plus, there are many more pounds to go. So thanks for the encouragment, but I’m just at the very beginning of this journey. Lots of miles (and pounds) to go! The portfolio is now resting safely on my desk :).

      Like

Leave a Reply

