Political Activism…Senior Style

Several weeks ago while talking with a friend, I met a woman who was seeking a place to hold her political activism meetings. She asked my friend, who operates a local cinema, if her group could meet there. She also engaged me in conversation and before I knew it, I was attending her next meeting. I had been looking for a way to connect with like-minded people in the community who wanted to express their dissatisfaction with the state of our government.

I was excited about the group, wondering who I would meet and where this would take me. I had been politically active in the 60s and somewhat so as a teacher during the 90s and 2000s, but I had never really aligned myself with a political action group.

I showed up at the scheduled meeting and was surprised to find a room filled with people much older than me…in their late 70s and 80s for the most part. At first I was taken aback; then I thought it would be a good learning experience for me to hear what they had to say.

They were very much alive, informed, astute and determined to make a difference. I was impressed by their energy, their empathy, and their range of experience in political matters. I had been talked into taking minutes, and did so diligently.

At that meeting the possibility of splitting into two groups was raised, and I was asked if I’d like to take charge of the evening group, for working people. I wasn’t eager to take that on, but felt I had to step up to the plate, so I said yes. I agreed to meet with the other people and help them create their own group, but not be in charge of the group myself.

I mulled this over for days. I realized after awhile, that I liked the original group and really didn’t want to leave them. I had bonded quickly; I liked them a lot. I have always enjoyed the company of people older and wiser than myself. This group had a lot of miles under their wheels and I respected them for that. I felt I could learn a lot from them.

So tonight I told the person in charge of the original group that I really didn’t want to take on the job of getting another group formed; that I had bonded with them and wanted to stay. She replied, with a glint in her eye, “Well , I’ve kind of bonded with you, too.” It was settled. I’m staying.

13 thoughts on “Political Activism…Senior Style”

  1. It’s funny. I had a similar experience when I joined ADK. I have grown to love this group of ladies – I am actually now President of my ADK chapter for this year and next year even though I had considered dropping out of the group two years ago. I love the way you spoke up and expressed how you felt about this group of people and that you wanted to continue to be a part of it rather than take charge of another group. I have to remember to speak up and express my feelings, just the way you did. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Age means little in the light of interests, and passions, and learning. I just joined a book group and our ages span 49 to 80. What joins us spans ages.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sometimes that perfect fit is obvious at the onset. Just because we age doesn’t our sense of values and of what is right and wrong diminishes. Experience only strengthen our beliefs and the need to stand up for what is right.

    Like

    1. Sometimes I have to make myself slow down and even occasionally cut back. I just dropped a Gentle Yoga class because I’m having trouble doing the poses with a bad shoulder and neck. It was hard to let go…but it gives me time to catch up on other things. You don’t let much grass grow under your feet either (when you’re not spying on the neighbors between the blinds)!

      Like

    1. I’ve really gone out on a limb for some of my activities. I wasn’t sure I’d be up to the challenge of the Great Books group, but I’m managing. The French conversation group is sometimes a pleasure, sometimes not depending on who does most of the talking. The political action group is really out of my comfort zone because I am usually so independent. But I’m finding that whatever I do and wherever I am I am making new friends, even at this stage of my life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

