Back On the Road Again and Happily So!

I am so excited that this will be my third year of the March Challenge on TWT! I have not missed a post since I began writing two years ago at the suggestion of Kathy Sokolowski, one of TWT’s mentors. And I have never looked back.

Weekly writing has become a form of meditation for me. I am not disciplined when it comes to keeping a notebook, or writing down ideas and all those helpful things many writers seem to do. I just go through my week and eventually something happens that triggers that writing response in me. The ideas begin to formulate in my head.

When I finally sit down to write my post, it usually pours out of me, and I often don’t know how it will end until I write the ending. There seems to be some underlying significance to what I choose to write about each week that becomes more obvious as I write my post.

This is probably why my posts are almost never about small moments. My mind tends to see the “big picture” and each post I write is a puzzle piece of that big picture. It’s kind of like trying to make sense of the universe, piece by piece.

In the past two years on TWT I have become more comfortable with myself as a writer and consequently more confident. A writer friend has told me that I am a natural essayist. I can take something that happens to me and relate it to a broader idea. It feels good to be any kind of writer at all, since I never thought I would be.

I’m looking forward to reading the next 31 days of posts from all of you…a kaleidoscope of ideas and words, all so different from my own!

6 thoughts on “Back On the Road Again and Happily So!”

  1. It’s funny how the words develop as you write. I prefer to write the night before, then reread before publishing. It’s amazing how often I totally change something in the morning. Let’s have a great month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

