Dueling Macs

Life has taken on a ridiculous cast in my household.  Tonight, as on many other nights, my husband and I sat at the kitchen table, each  on our own computer.   This struck me as so funny that I had my daughter take a picture of us.

image

I am sure this is not an anomoly in many households, especially with two professionals who both use a computer, but it is such an unforeseen outcome of the direction our lives have taken.  My husband has been chained to one computer or another for years at work.  For a long time he worked at Newsday and we can both still remember the introduction of computers at his job.  He now writes for a CUNY College and is on his computer all day, every day.

image

Over the decades he has sporadically had serious Repetitive Injury Syndrome (RIS) from doing so much typing.  Eventually more ergonomic devices were installed at his work station which would temporarily alleviate the pain, but not for long.  About four or five nights out of seven he sits and watches tv with an ice pack wrapped in an elastic band around his arm(s).   He has had extensive physical therapy and massage and has resorted to strong doses of anti-inflammatories when needed, which is frequently. At this point I think he is resigned to suffering until he retires in about two years.

image

I have been more fortunate.  Computers were not really introduced into school settings until about 20 years ago, and in classrooms much later.  Although my students and I occasionally used computers in the lab, most of the time I was happily oblivious to the digital world.  Only in my final five or so years of teaching did I feel I must introduce my ESL students to computers to help them keep up with their peers.

Now all that has changed for me as well.  Since I first began blogging a year ago on SOLSC #15, I am never far from my iPad.  I do often suffer from back and neck discomfort when I have spent too much time on the iPad and am forced to pull back for a day or so.  But this March Challenge is without pity and, besides, I love it so much I just type through the pain. Fortunately I am not much of an online shopper, nor do I pass the time playing computer games and the like. Nope!  I am much too busy happily writing on my iPad until my hands and neck muscles begin to tell me to stop as they are doing right now!

image

29 thoughts on “Dueling Macs”

  1. A few nights ago, I took pix of my notebook and uploaded those instead of typing. I couldn’t see typing on my phone, and I needed to keep up with my slicing sooooo. Maybe you could alleviate some of the typing stress with some pictures. Of course, that won’t help with “getting comment fatigue.” That will keep you up with dueling computers! Loved the pic of you and your husband!

    Like

  2. What a cute slice with the photo – it gave me insight both into your comfort with working across from each other, and how times have changed in all of your worlds – home /school/ work.

    Like

  3. I was a newspaper reporter before teacher and remember the shift from mainframe-style boxes to personal computers, and the moment when the shift occurred (granted, it happened late at our newspaper, it now seems to me). Too bad for your husband’s wrist, though. Yes, we have dueling computers, too. (mine wins!)
    Kevin

    Like

  4. I’m glad to know I am not the only one noticing this shift of our work bodies. I have three girls using technology regularly. I find them curling up on the couch more than I do with my laptop. I prefer to sit upright so I’m not tempted to doze. It’s interesting how they work everywhere. I wonder which is better?

    Like

  5. Similar view in my home, but not at the table. My husband and I are in the family room, TV on but both are on some device lost in our own digital world. He reading about cars, me reading slices. Fortunately, we have not suffered physical injury due to digital devices.

    Like

  6. New injuries that doctors now need to become expert at treating! So far, I’m okay, but I spend a lot of time, so try to rest and do other things once in a while. Computers have changed our world.

    Like

  7. I love the picture! It’s like that in my house. Sometimes I feel like we are all on devices. Especially in the evenings, my husband and I both try to finish the work that still remains, or enjoy reading something or other online. It’s hard to pull away from it.

    Like

    1. We are a household that still manages to balance our use of gadgets with nongadget time…such as mealtimes. No digital devices allowed under most circumstances (unless we need to look up something we are talking about). Conversation still takes place and I am proud of that! So important, I believe.

      Like

  8. Had to smile at this. My wife and I are the same way. Each has our own computer and favorite spot for getting on line even though we do not need to do it for work. It is great to be retired.

    Like

  9. i’ve been using computers for 35 years now, first main-frames at a newspaper, then PCs teaching in college, then working with an international nonprofit where e-mail was the best if not only way we could keep in touch with our members. I read far fewer books than I used to because I’m reading so much online — and there is so vastly much available on the Internet. But I try not to become my device. My husband used the desktop computer while I use the laptop, so we’re usually not in the same room while being logged in. But that kept us from continually interrupting each other with, “Did you see this link?” I love your post for making me think about my computer use, and overuse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

