Celebrating SOL and a Year of Blogging!

One year ago, March 1, 2015, I wrote my first blog for Two Writing Teachers as I dove into the deep end of the pool and accepted the challenge to write a Slice of Life every day for the month of March. It was sink or swim for me. I was in the early stages of cancer survival and needed something to lift my spirits and bring me back into the world of the living. I want to thank Kathleen Sokolowski, one of the TWT mentors, for telling me about the website and urging me to join the challenge.

Now, one year later, to my amazement, I not only wrote daily for the month of March, I never stopped writing. I have been writing weekly since then and missed only two weeks while I was in Germany during the Christmas holidays. My One Little Word for this year is Celebrate, so today I am celebrating this accomplishment with all my SOL friends, and with some new ones who I hope are writing here for the first time. This is a wonderful place to be, to develop some new writing habits, find your voice, play with your style and grow as a writer.

image

Community is so important. When you are very ill, your sense of isolation from the world at large is very painful to bear. You know that life is going on around you, without you, and there’s not a thing you can do about it. I had just left my job literally weeks before my cancer ordeal began, so I had closed the door on a community I had flourished within for 22 years. My life became a routine of chemo and radiation treatments that left me so incapacitated I could not have been social even if I wanted to. Six months later, when the treatments were over and I was “cancer free,” I had to start over. It was like being reborn but as a 67-year old adult!

I now want to thank all of you who supported my first blogs, baby steps on the way to becoming a dedicated blogger. Your warm reception, your encouragement about my ideas and the fact that some of you were there for me every week without fail all made me feel very protected, appreciated and welcomed. This is why I have stepped up to volunteer as a commenter for the new Slice of Life Challenge. I hope that somehow I can make the kind of difference in someone’s life that many of you made in mine.

image

In closing, a shout out to all the SOL mentors, Stacey, Dana, Kathleen, Tara, Beth, Anna, Deb and Betsy, who have worked hard to both create and sustain this community of writers. Your vision and your dedication have created a place where we can all be the best we can be thanks to your tutelage and inspiration.

Last but not least, a heartfelt thank you to all my fellow bloggers whose posts I look forward to with great anticipation every week and who have taught me so much about the importance of being a teacher who writes. I celebrate this community and look forward to another year with you all!

image

21 thoughts on “Celebrating SOL and a Year of Blogging!”

  1. This is (and you are) inspiring! You definitely have much to celebrate- that is a great word. Thank you for your willingness to be open and share of yourself. I am new to the SOL challenge, and I am so excited to join this community and grow together as writers.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your one year blog birthday! Congratulations on being cancer free. I think fate led me here as today began a new trimester, and I learned one of my students is a skin cancer survivor. She has been in remission two weeks.

    Happy slicing!

    Like

    1. And back at you! I have been a faithful reader of your post too. I’d love to know who you are. Any chance of that? Keep up the good work…I am looking forward to more of you, And thanks so much for your the highest compliment I could have received.

      Like

  3. Here we are again, Barbara! How life has grown and expanded for both of us since our first Slices here last March. So glad to be your face to face friend and blogging friend too. Looking forward to learning even more about you through your posts this March! Thanks for the kind words about me in your post.

    Like

    1. How life has grown and expanded for both of us…I can’t think of more apt words to describe the past year. As usual, you hit the nail on the head. Looking forward to continuing to grow with you this next year!

      Like

  4. What a perfect quote from Oprah! There is so much to celebrate and you are a living example of that celebration! Writing takes you on journeys without leaving home. Looking forward to the journey of this month with you.

    Like

    1. You know that you have been a mainstay of my experience with SOL. My dream is to meet you one day. I know we could be good friends. Meanwhile, yes, our journey continues. Did you know I couldn’t think of a thing to say when I sat down to write this post? I just powered through the block and voila!

      Like

  5. Thank you for sharing a bit of your journey here. Wow! Writing every day with only a short break. You are my hero! I would like to write more on my blog. I was so proud of myself for writing every day for 31 days two years ago and then I barely wrote for two years. I am hitting reset here and now. 🙂

    Like

    1. I am so glad I could inspire you as others have done for me. Good to have you back in the fold. Sometimes we need to be away from something so we can return and really appreciate it when we do. Kinda’ like going on a long vacation and then finally coming home! Looking forward to your participation.

      Like

  6. Happy blogiversary to you then!

    I love your voice in this community and am so glad you found us. You are such a thoughtful commenter and reader, and I know your words are going to change someone’s writing life forever in this challenge. Thank you.

    This post was very touching and got me a little teary-eyed, to be honest.

    Like

    1. Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Dana. Your words couldn’t be kinder or more supportive. I will try to live up to your expectations. I would love for them to be true. And thanks for being a faithful reader, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

